Whitlam Institute

What Matters? 2018

Congratulations to the 2018 Finalists


The 2018 What Matters? Competition Finalists were announced at a special Awards Ceremony at the Whitlam Institute on Tuesday, 4 September 2018. Our exceptional finalist entries were awarded prizes from our generous partners, including The Museum of Australian Democracy, Writing NSW, Reachout, Varuna the Writer's House, WestWords and The Writing Workshop.

The Overall Competition Winner was announced as Sancia Ridgeway, from year 10 at The Armidale School, with her entry Totem.



Patron’s address:

Read the 2018 Finalist Entries:

New south wales/Australian CapItal Territory

Sancia Ridgeway

The Armidale School, Totem
Overall Competition Winner, Year 9/10 Winner

Sasha van onselen

Kambala School, Rose Bay, Women's Rights
Year 5/6 Winner

Scarlett york

Hunter Valley Grammar School, Chances Blow With the Wind
Year 5/6 Runner Up

Kyla Rajkumar

Wenona School, North Sydney, What Matters for Her
Year 7/8 Winner

Eduarda Da Costa

Meriden School, Strathfield, Self Expectations. They Matter
Year 7/8 Runner Up

Amelia Wheeler

Castle Hill High School, Women
Year 9/10 Runner Up

Alison Hwang

Fort Street High School, Petersham, The Colours of Words
Year 11/12 Winner

Elvira Berzins

Frensham School, Mittagong, Listen 
Year 11/12 Runner Up

Artistic Merit


Alexandra roper

Castle Hill High School, Respect
Artistic Merit Winner




Mount Nelson Primary School, Get knocked down, step back up
Year 5/6 Winner


Taroona High School, These Thoughts
Year 7/8 Winner

Billie Raffety

Taroona High School, Five Days of Madness
Year 9/10 Winner

Brittany Leahy

Launceston Big Picture School, My Mind - What Matters to Me
Year 11/12 Winner


Kieran Valentine

Mount Nelson Primary School, No Creepy Ladies
Year 5/6 Runner Up


Kingston High School, Writing Matters
Year 7/8 Runner Up

Hailea Stuart

Devonport High School, A Sense of Normalcy
Year 9/10 Runner Up

Maggie Aitken

Launceston College, Patriotic Cancer
Year 11/12 Runner Up