Whitlam Institute

2017 What Matters

What Matters?


2017 Winners

For the first time in the history of the competition, our judges were unable to choose a single winner from the more than 4,000 entries received in 2017. 

Congratulations to our joint 2017 Winners:

Anhaar Kareem of Greenacre Public School with her entry My Dreams Matter


Matti Schwarz of Hobart College with his entry Simple Things

Read the 2017 Finalist Entries:

New south wales/Australian Captial Territory


Greenacre Public School, My Dreams Matter
Year 5/6 Winner, Joint Overall Competition Winner

Sydney Bao

Artarmon Public School, Being Yourself Matters!
Year 5/6 Runner Up

Nikki Parsons

St Joseph Regional College, Port Macquarie, Our Language Matters
Year 7/8 Winner

Grace McGarvie

Albury High School, Dr Who?
Year 7/8 Runner Up

Caitlin Hansford

Presbyterian Ladies' College, Armidale, Art Matters
Year 9/10 Winner

Markus Barrie

Castle Hill High School, We Are Human Too
Year 9/10 Runner Up

Mehmet Irmak

Sefton High School, Privacy
Year 11/12 Winner

Grace Roodenrys

Mount Carmel Catholic College, Raby, Aleppo is a Place Where the Children Have Stopped Crying
Year 11/12 Runner Up


Maya Harrington

Princes St Primary School, The Place I Belong
Year 5/6 Winner

Maryam Ali

Queechy High School, Discrimination: It Matters
Year 9/10 Winner

Matti Schwarz

Hobart College, Simple Things
Year 11/12 Winner
Joint Overall Competition Winner

Want to participate in 2018? Sign up below and we'll contact you when entries open!

Name *