What Matters? 2012

We are very pleased to announce the 2012 What Matters? Competition Finalists! All of their entries are available to read below.


These gifted and passionate writers attended the Awards Ceremony on August 17 and were presented with their prizes.


CONGRATULATIONS to Overall 2012 Competition Winner Sheree Kuan from MLC School, and to all of our finalists!


Sheree Kuan, Overall Winner What Matters? 2012 


What Matters 2012 Finalists 


Watch the recorded Awards Ceremony from August 17 in the video below

Watch live streaming video from live at livestream.com


Sheree Kuan essay 


Alexander Husarek 


Rebecca Chung


Natasha Langdon


Richard Tong


Laura Bee icon 


Amy Ma 


Tamara Lennon 



Congratulations also to our Highly Commended entrants:



Click the link below to see photos from the award ceremony.


What Matters Gallery 2012

 Certificates will be sent to all students who entered the competition shortly after the Awards Ceremony. These certificates will be sent to your school, so keep an eye out for them and ask your teacher if you haven't received them by the end of Term 3.


What Matters? is a writing competition that gives year 5 – 12 students in NSW and the ACT a chance to say what matters to them in society today.


What actions do you think should be taken to build a better society? What would you change if you could? What do you want other people to care about?

We encourage you to also have a look at the 2011 winning entries.

Prizes are awarded in 4 categories: Years 5/6, 7/8, 9/10 and 11/12.

  •  $350 for each category winner and $200 for each category runner-up. Winners and runners-up will receive their prize at an awards ceremony, following their participation in a Young Writers Forum run by The Writing Workshop, on 17 August 2012 at the University of Western Sydney's Parramatta campus. Winning entries will be published in print and online.
  • An overall competition winner, announced at the awards ceremony, will receive a laptop with software donated by Officeworks.
  • The Year 11/12 category winner will also be offered the opportunity to participate in ReachOut.com's ReachOut Reporters multimedia content producing program, receiving professional training and the opportunity to be published online and paid for their work.
  • The category winners from Years 5/6, 7/8 and 9/10 will each receive a full-day creative writing workshop donated by The Writing Workshop, conducted by award-winning author Bernard Cohen.

All entrants will receive a certificate of participation.

All schools participating in the competition went into the draw for a chance to win one of five Officeworks vouchers valued at $1,000 each.

Congratulations to the following lucky schools:

  • Colyton Public School
  • Castle Hill High School
  •  Leichhardt Public School
  • Chatham Primary School
  • Bingara Central School

on Facebook at www.facebook.com/whatmatterscomp, and also make sure you check out the awesome TV program that was made by TVS about last year's competition

For more information see your teacher or call 02 9685 9187


The Writing Workshop

Page Contents